Abbeyleix South National School

Scoil Náisiúnta Mainistir Laoise Theas

Parents’ Association

The Abbeyleix South National School Parents’ Association is comprised of a class representative from each year. They are a signed up member of the National Parents’ Council . They are actively involved in continuous fundraising to assist in the enhancement of the experience here at Abbeyleix South National School. The amazing support from parents ensures that all events are a great success.

The AGM of the Parents’ Association  was held via ZOOM on Tuesday 29th September 2020 due to COVID-19 restrictions.  Our P.A. members are:

CHAIRPERSON: Florence White 

SECRETARY: Laura Walsh


Board of Management Members:  Deirdre Gee & Pat Kirwan

Association Members: Sarah Cleary, Caragh Sharma, Fiona Johnson, David Bland, Genevieve Bennett, Belinda Gyves

We are also extremely fortunate to have a group of parents who volunteer to help out at any events we hold in the school.


Dear Parents,

As you know, the Abbeyleix South NS Parents Association hosts fundraisers each year to provide valuable and much appreciated funds to support school activities and the purchase of equipment that benefits all of our children attending the school every day. 

This year, our fundraising, like lots of things, will be limited by the COVID-19 restrictions. Since we can’t hold the type of wonderful fundraisers like concerts, food fairs and sales, that have brought the whole school community together in the past, we are planning a Silent Auction in the run up to Christmas.

Silent auctions, run by the PA, have been very generously supported in the past and we’re hoping that parents and the wider community are in a position to support us again this time. We are asking parents and sponsors  to contact us with donations before Friday 27th November if possible.  All lots will be put up for Auction from Monday 30th November. 

Every contribution is extremely welcome. Whether it’s an hour of your professional time, a homemade Christmas cake, vouchers for your business, household fuel – whatever your contribution, all are greatly appreciated. 

Anyone who wises to donate, please contact any member of the Parents Association listed below as soon as possible but before 27th November so that we can finalise the full details of lots available for the auction which will launch the following week.

Thank you for your generous support and please spread the word. We will be back to you soon with an update on the auction launch.

PA Members: Florence White, Sarah Cleary Denise Mezzepelle, Liz Lane, Caroline Whelan, Pat Kirwan, Deirdre Gee, Laura Walshe, Anna Hayes and Caragh Burns Sharma. 

Best regards – stay safe and thanks for your donations 

Abbeyleix South NS PA