Abbeyleix South National School

Scoil Náisiúnta Mainistir Laoise Theas

Staff and Pupils

teachers, 05042017 019-2

Principal: Mrs. Ruth Wallace.
Deputy Principal: Ms. Geraldine Whiteford.
Special Duties: Mrs. Orla Mythen.
Teachers: Ms Laura Wakefield

Mrs Wendy Costello

Special Education Team (SET): Mrs Honora Bergin/ Ms Joanne Kelly (shared) Mrs Orla Mythen
Special Needs Assistants (SNA’s):


Ms Karen Lynam

Mrs Marie O Shaughnessy

Mrs Mary Murphy

Administrative Staff: Mrs Avril Twiss

Mrs Hazel Wellwood

Cleaning Staff: Anne Austin
  • This is a co-educational school with 106 pupils.
  • Our principal is a teaching principal.
  • Four teachers are classroom teachers.
  • There are three teachers on the Special Education Team (SET)  based in our school, with one shared post.
  • There are three Special Needs Assistants (SNAs) two full time, one part time.
  • There is an administration office available from 9am – 3pm
  • Generally pupils begin school when they are four years old and transfer to secondary school when they are twelve years old.